Things That Make a Seamstress Happy….


Some gifts I received today!  Thank you, Mamma, Pappa, and Marianne!!
I already have the fabric for the Swing Dress– the same fabric I used for Marianne’s medieval dress.  I can’t wait to get started on it!!! 😀  My first ’40s dress!  😀 
I spent some riding-in-the-car time today pouring over Patterns of Fashion. For those of you who have heard about how amazing it is– you heard correctly.  It is fantastic– no wonder all the “big-time” historical costumers love it.  It contains notes from and for dressmakers/tailors from the mid-1600s to the mid-1800s, as well as the basic patterns for some 40 or 50 women’s clothing styles from 1660 to 1860.  There are some gorgeous gowns and outerwear from the 18th century which I definitely plan to add to my wardrobe over time. 😉 (I’ll just have to sell some more doll clothes first. 😉 ) (Speaking of which, I think some of the patterns in J.A. may serve as inspiration for doll clothes as well. 😉 ) 
So, yes, I’m pretty excited. 🙂
6 thoughts on “Things That Make a Seamstress Happy….

  1. Indeed! I have been looking at that book for a long time! Since I got mostly money I am thinking about getting it. I love Jenny Chancey's patterns too, have lots of fun!

  2. I've just received a book for Christmas that I would very much like to recommend to you. You can find it here:http://www.amazon.com/Ladys-Stratagem-Repository-Mantua-making-Stay-making/dp/0963651773/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1293465784&sr=8-1It is over 700 pages of Regency and Romantic era etiquette, hair dressing, costume plates and descriptions, instructions for cutting out and assembling several different stays and a riding habit, as well as a few embroidery patterns, a glove pattern, and oh, my goodness I could just go on forever! It's all from period sources form the 1820s, translated mostly from French, but a few English sources were used as well. I think you would just love it!

Leave a Reply

