Margaret’s Ballgown

I am so thankful for the Lord’s help as I hurried to get this dress done in less than a week’s time! He helped me to not get stressed and to not run into big problems, and I got it done in time!
The ladies on the Sense and Sensibility forum were also so helpful as I needed help getting the darts just right.

Doesn’t Margaret look lovely?
Pattern Description: Simplicity 4055, View A (sort of πŸ™‚ )

Pattern Sizing: Size 12

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Not too much… I made a lot of alterations, now that I think about it πŸ™‚
Were the instructions easy to follow? Sure… I’ve done this pattern several times, and have made LOTS of Regency doll dresses, so it comes easily to me now πŸ™‚
What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It’s Regency! Of course I love it! I can’t think of anything I dislike about it at the moment…
Fabric Used: costume satin from JoAnn Fabrics
Pattern Alterations or any design changes you made: Lots. πŸ™‚ I darted the bodice instead of gathered it; omitted the overlay; shortened the skirt; raised the neckline, and worked the sash from View B into View A. πŸ™‚ (“Ya got that all, honey?” πŸ˜‰ )
Would you sew it again? Oh yes. Of course! πŸ˜€ Though I don’t think I want to do the darts again; they’re so hard to get to look right!
Would you recommend it to others? You know the answer already! Of course!!! πŸ˜€

More pictures:


Photos by/from Mrs. Dashwood, Elinor Dashwood, and Brandon P.
9 thoughts on “Margaret’s Ballgown

  1. Yay! Finally! Marianne your dress is SO beautiful!! Elinor you did such a wonderful job! I love the color paired with the gold sash! So lovely! I also love Marianne's necklace and slippers. You girls look so pretty!I'm really excited to see the details of your dress Elinor! I'm staying tuned! πŸ˜‰

  2. Melanie your dress is drop dead gorgeous on you!!!!! I about fell over when I saw your gown. Margarets is also gorgeous! But that color on your the green is just abosolutely stunning! lovely ladies and lovely gowns! Oh I wish I could come to the ball with you!love and In Christ,Rebecca

Leave a Reply

